Letting Go Of People

Who knew my week would include life altering change? I’ve been in a group of women through an online forum for about 3 years. We all have children the buddhasame age and went through pregnancy together. It is such a blessing to, as a woman, have other women you can lean on, bitch about husbands to and share the joys of motherhood with. However, with such a large group of strong women, comes strong disagreements. Over the years as we have gotten more comfortable with each other some of us have forgotten what it meant to be supportive and have chosen to be critical based on what they believe is right or wrong. Cliques developed in order to crush anyone in disagreement with certain opinions. Needless to say, many of us mentally disconnected even though some are going through the hardest times of our lives and really could use a strong support system.

How did we let it get to this point? As a good friend told me, women NEED to support each other. Not everyone’s situation is going to look perfect in my eyes but does that mean I should judge them? Should I think negatively of them based on their choices? In my opinion, hell no! Not about that life.

An argument ensued this week within our group, and I began to contemplate whether or not I wanted to remove myself. I knew that If I did, I wouldn’t be able to come back. I decided to turn to God to help me choose.

” So every single one of you who judge others is without any excuse. You condemn yourself when you judge another person because the one who is judging is doing the same things.” Romans 2:1

This scripture stuck out to me because the argument was based on the judgement of a fellow woman. I knew with all my heart that it was wrong, and if there is one thing I cannot stand it’s when women talk about other women negatively in my presence. It goes against everything I stand for.

Another reason I love this scripture is because I definitely have done things that I don’t stand for. I’ve talked about women behind their backs, and it took this situation to make me realize how wrong it is. We are all made uniquely, every one of us has imperfections and loving each other despite those is the point of all of this right? We are first and foremost meant to love.

At midnight I went to the computer and removed myself from the forum. It’s not worth the stress of wondering whether I’m offending someone, wondering if they like me or not, or if I can truly trust them. I know the women who are my real friends in the group will keep in touch with me and I can start over with healthy, empowering female relationships based on trust and acceptance. If you’re a women you know the struggle can be real! So I left, holding nothing against anyone and leaving only the best wishes for them all.

This morning I felt awesome! I still do. I don’t know if it has to do with the weight of it all being lifted off my shoulders, the meditation, or maybe a combination. I wanted to share a little part of my most wonderful morning with all of you.

morning playlist

Leave a Reply

